The dates below reflect important milestones pertinent to the Board of Directors (BOD) General Election, the House of Delegates (HOD) Elections—including the House Officers and the Nominating Work Group (NWG) – and the Student Academy (SA) Election.

 

2020 Elections Timeline

DATE(s) ACTION(s)
February 26 (Wed) Any current BOD member who is choosing to run for an alternate position mid-term—which per APAA Bylaws would require them to resign their current position effective June 30—must declare their intention to run for the alternative office to the Senior Vice President of Governance and Leadership. This is to ensure any resulting 2020-21 vacancy may be published as an open position for potential candidates.
March 2 (Mon)
  • Candidate applications open.
March 27 (Fri) Deadline to file BOD General Election, House Officer, NWG and SA candidate applications
March 30 (Mon) – April 7 (Tues) NWG interviews with BOD General Election & House Officer candidates
April 17 (Fri)
  • Distribution of SA candidate information to Assembly of Representatives
  • Launch SA election webpages with candidate info
April 20, 21, or 22 NWG call to determine a slate of candidate for BOD General Election and HOD elections.
April 23 (Thurs)
  • Launch BOD General Election and HOD Elections candidate webpages
  • Email announcement to all members announcing all election candidates
May 2 (Sat)
  • Date eligible voters in HOD Elections (House Officers and NWG) need to be current Fellow members
  • Date eligible voters in SA elections need to be current Student members
May 4 (Mon) Date eligible voters in BOD General Election need to be current Fellow members
May 15 – 17 HOD meeting
May 16 – 20 Annual Conference
May 16 (Sat) Meet the Candidates Session for HOD Election – Time TBD
May 17 (Sun)
  • HOD Election voting occurs during the HOD Meeting
  • HOD Election results announced during the HOD Meeting
  • Student Academy candidate forum during the AOR meeting
  • Student Academy Elections during the AOR meeting
  • Student Academy Election results announced during the AOR meeting
May 18 (Mon) 9:00 a.m. Meet the Candidates Session for BOD General Election
May 19 (Tues) BOD General Election voting opens at 9:00 am EDT
June 2 (Tues) BOD General Election voting closes at 5:00 pm EDT
June 3 (Wed) BOD General Election results announced
July 1 2020 – 2021 Leadership Year begins
July – TBD AAPA Board of Directors Meeting, Alexandria, VA

Interested in running? Check out these FAQs on What Every Potential Candidate Needs To Know Now

Questions? Please send an email to [email protected].