The AAPA Board of Directors is the governing body responsible for AAPA’s strategic, administrative and financial management.

Josanne Pagel President and Chair of the Board L. Gail Curtis, MPAS, PA-C, DFAAPA Clemmons, N.C. gcurtis@aapa.org Term: 7/1/17 – 6/30/18
 Jonathan Sobel President-elect Jonathan E. Sobel, PA-C, MBA, DFAAPA, FAPACVS Rockville Centre, N.Y. jsobel@aapa.org Term: 7/1/17 – 6/30/18
 Josanne Pagel Immediate Past President Josanne K. Pagel, MPAS, PA-C, Karuna® RMT, DFAAPA North Ridgeville, Ohio jpagel@aapa.org Term: 7/1/17 – 6/30/18
 David Jackson Vice President and Speaker of the House David I. Jackson, DHSc, PA-C, DFAAPA Huntington, N.Y. djackson@aapa.org Term: 7/1/17 – 6/30/18
 Diane Bruessow Secretary-Treasurer Diane M. Bruessow, MPAS, PA-C, DFAAPA Middle Village, N.Y. dbruessow@aapa.org Term: 07/05/17 – 6/30/18
Billy Collins Director-at-Large Billy S. Collins, DHSc, PA-C Beaumont, Texas bcollins@aapa.org Term: 7/1/17 – 6/30/19
 Lauren Dobbs Director-at-Large Lauren G. Dobbs, MMS, PA-C Aledo, Texas ldobbs@aapa.org Term: 7/1/16 – 6/30/18
 Melinda Moore Director-at-Large Melinda Moore Gottschalk, PA-C, MPAS, DFAAPA Round Rock, TX mgottschalk@aapa.org Term: 9/19/17-6/30/19
 David Mittman Director-at-Large David E. Mittman, PA, DFAAPA Boynton Beach, Fla. dmittman@aapa.org Term: 7/1/17 – 6/30/19
 Todd Pickard Director and Second Vice Speaker of the House Todd A. Pickard, MMSc, PA-C, DFAAPA Houston, Texas tpickard@aapa.org Term: 7/1/17 – 6/30/18
 Beth Smolko Director-at-Large Beth R. Smolko, MMS, PA-C Frederick, Md. bsmolko@aapa.org Term: 7/1/16 – 6/30/18
William Reynolds Director and First Vice Speaker of the House William T. Reynolds, Jr., MPAS, PA-C, DFAAPA Dallas, Pa. wreynolds@aapa.org Term: 7/1/17 – 6/30/18
 Alfred Beasler Student Director Alfred “Trae” Beasler III Bethany, Okla. abeasler@aapa.org Term: 7/1/17 – 6/30/18
Chief Executive Officer Jenna L. Dorn, MPA Alexandria, Va. jdorn@aapa.org
About the Board of Directors

The voting members elect the members of the BOD, which is responsible for setting the strategic course of the organization, aligned to AAPA’s mission and vision. The Academy’s strategic plan and operational goals are just the start of this process. The BOD is responsible for the Academy’s corporate actions that direct management of the organization, establish organizational policies, and direct the assets of the organization.

In practice, this has a variety of implications from the adoption and oversight of the Academy’s annual budget, to the recognition of constituency groups, to external and public outreach.  The BOD’s work is supported by a number of committees and work groups that provide additional council and expertise.

Detailed information on the BOD’s duties can be found in the AAPA Bylaws.

Board Meetings

View the AAPA BOD meeting schedule and meeting records.

The summary of actions taken by the AAPA Board of Directors are reported in the annual report (PDF) to the AAPA House of Delegates.

Speaking Requests

To invite a Board member to speak at your meeting or event, please complete the AAPA Speaker Request Form.

Governance Documents and Polices

Please refer to Governance Documents and Policies webpage.

Elections

Complete details can be found on the AAPA Elections webpage.

To contact the AAPA governance department, please email governance@aapa.org .