Apply for the 2019-2020 Employer of Excellence Award

First and Only PA-specific Award in Healthcare

November 1, 2018

Today, the American Academy of PAs’ (AAPA) Center for Healthcare Leadership and Management (CHLM) began accepting applications for its 2019-2020 Employer of Excellence Awards, an annual award program designed to showcase PA employers that have implemented practices that create a PA-positive environment and encourage collaborative provider teams. The program, which was launched in 2017, is the first and only PA-specific award program available to PA employers including hospitals, staffing companies and healthcare organizations.

CHLM partnered with HealthStream, a leading provider of workforce, patient experience, and provider solutions for the healthcare industry, to gain an understanding of what PAs value in their place of employment. Based on the findings, criteria for the Employer of Excellence Awards focuses on five key drivers:

  • Facilitating a positive and supportive PA work environment.
  • Creating processes for effective conflict management.
  • Providing opportunities for PAs to provide meaningful input that leads to positive organizational change.
  • Informing PAs of organizational activity and decisions through communications.
  • Involving PAs in leadership efforts to improve the quality of patient care.

The Employer of Excellence Awards will honor employers that are committed to empowering PAs, promoting mutual respect and effective communication and collaboration among providers, and facilitating professional development. Employers that are recognized will be showcased as top places to work for PAs, which will enhance recruitment of highly qualified PAs, increase retention rates, and showcase the awardees as models in the healthcare industry.

The 2018-2019 EOE winners include: The Cleveland Clinic; NYU Langone Health; Wake Forest Baptist Health; MidMichigan Health; Hospital for Special Surgery; Brigham Health – Brigham and Women’s Hospital; Seattle Cancer Care Alliance; and El Centro Family Health.

Any organization in the United States that employs a minimum of 10 PAs is eligible to apply for the awards. The online application opens Nov. 1 and must be submitted by Feb. 8, 2019. The awards will be presented at AAPA’s Annual Conference in Denver on May 18, 2019.

To nominate your employer or apply online visit

 More Resources: