PA Students and Student Leaders Inspired at AAPA 2018

Make Plans to Attend AAPA 2019 Now

June 22, 2018

At AAPA 2018, students from more than 140 PA programs met in New Orleans to share ideas, network, and move the profession forward. Find out about the decisions that affect you.

Assembly of Representatives (AOR) Meeting
AOR Representatives from more than 140 PA programs met on May 19 in New Orleans to discuss and debate AOR resolutions, elect new Student Academy Board members, and to hear from PA leaders during a leadership panel. The AOR debated nine resolutions and passed eight, which will be addressed by the 2018-2019 Student Academy Board. Director of Outreach Niki Perez also delivered the 2018 AOR Report to the AOR representatives, which gave a summary of Student Academy Board and student volunteer accomplishments during the 2017-2018 leadership year.

AOR Representatives also participated in the PA PAC participation challenge with the House of Delegates (HOD). The AOR beat the HOD with 90 percent participation!

Student Board of Directors Election Results
Thirty three students ran for 11 positions on the Student Academy Board. AOR Representatives elected these 11 leaders to the 2018-2019 Student Academy Board of Directors during the AOR meeting.

  • President-elect, Cooper Couch, University of Southern California
  • Chief Delegate, Hillary Bennett, University of Oklahoma OKC
  • Director of Outreach, Kaila Gaughan, University of Kentucky
  • Director of Student Communications, Diana Wiley, University of Oklahoma OKC
  • PA Foundation Student Representative, Jamie Pepi Shelstad, Bethel University
  • Northeast Regional Director, Brittany Palaski, MGH Institutes of Health Professions
  • Mid-Atlantic Regional Director, Mike Gumpert, Jefferson College
  • Southeast Regional Director, Frank Stooksbury, Campbell University
  • North Central Regional Director, Kellie Niehaus, Ohio University
  • South Central Regional Director, Nelson Head, University of Oklahoma OKC
  • Western Regional Director, Brittany Hager, University of Washington MEDEX 
Student delegates participate in the HOD
Student delegates participate in the HOD

House of Delegates (HOD) Meeting
PA students had a large presence at the HOD meeting on May 19-21 in a variety of capacities. 22 PA students filled 16 seats at the HOD, making the student delegation the largest voting group in the House.  Delegates worked diligently over the last year and authored two resolutions, both of which were adopted into AAPA policy and can be found here as 2018-C-13 and 2018-C-14. Students also volunteered as tellers, record keepers, and members of Reference Committees, all invaluable positions to ensure the HOD meeting ran smoothly.

Inaugural Yes, I Scan Student Ultrasound Competition & Workshop
The inaugural Yes, I Scan competition and workshop promoted the importance of point-of-care ultrasound and give participants hands-on experience. Emory University beat 13 other teams to win the first Yes, I Scan title in New Orleans. 96 students volunteered during the event and 90 students participated in workshops. There were also many volunteer instructors and faculty who helped make this new event a success. 

USC Challenge Bowl Team celebrates
USC celebrates its win.

2018 AAPA National Medical Challenge Bowl
The Student Academy National Medical Challenge Bowl is a friendly competition among registered PA student societies held at AAPA’s annual conference. The quiz-bowl style competition is both entertaining and educational. This year, 93 teams participated (a new record)! Congratulations to the University of Southern California for winning the 2018 Challenge Bowl! Penn State, Butler University, and Nova Southeastern University-Jacksonville joined USC in the final round!

2018 Student Awards
Student Academy President Trae Beasler announced the recipients of the 2018 Student Awards during the 2018 Challenge Bowl. The Student Academy received multiple applications for each award and the competition was rigorous.

Each year, AAPA funds eight travel grants to support PA students attending Conference and participating in the AOR and HOD meetings. There are six grants to fund students to attend the AOR meeting and two grants to fund students to attend the HOD meeting.

  • AOR Travel Grants recipients:
    • Shane Ashbaugh, Stanford University
    • Steffi Bortenschlager, Concordia University
    • Lindsey Gardiner, Case Western Reserve University
    • Christine Sharp, Pace University-Lenoxville
    • Taylor Soucie, Union College
    • Shaddin Tirhi, University of Washington Medex-Spokane
  • HOD Travel Grants recipients:
    • Samantha Mandell, New York Institute of Technology
    • William Morris, Case Western Reserve University

The PA Student Mentor award honors a PA who has demonstrated exemplary service to PA students and has furthered the leadership, educational, or professional development of PA students. The 2018 PA Student Mentor is Nicole Schtupak-Zernitsky, MCMSc, PA-C, RDMS, who works as an emergency medicine PA in Weston, Florida.

One student society is recognized each year for its outstanding service to the profession. Event submissions are evaluated on relevance to the profession, impact on community and/or individuals, and the uniqueness of each event. The 2018 Outstanding Student Society is Case Western Reserve University.

The PA Student of the Year Award honors one PA student who has demonstrated exemplary service and leadership as a PA student. The 2018 PA Student of the Year is Blake Rogers from James Madison.

Whether you’ll be a student or a practicing PA by next year, make plans now to attend AAPA 2019 in Denver, Colorado and be a part of the exciting experience!